Port Phillip Women's Championship Series (PPWCS) 2015

The YV Port Phillip Women’s Championship Series (PPWCS) 2015 marks the third series which combines the existing ‘signature’ women’s events from the five keelboat clubs at the top of the bay into one event and will be contested on the waters of Port Phillip from February to May 2015.

Since the inaugural event in 2013, the series has attracted a total of 76 boats all helmed by females over the last two years, with the second series in 2014 seeing 21 new boats and 21 new female helms join the fleet. All host clubs have provided great racing on the water and first-class off-the-water entertainment for each of the five race days.

For the 2015 season, Yachting Victoria (YV) and the Women & Girls in Sailing Committee (WGISC) are thrilled to announce the establishment of a new perpetual trophy to encourage increased participation by all clubs. The ‘Kingston Trophies PPWCS Perpetual Team Trophy’ will be calculated using a formula that rewards higher levels of participation in racing, the percentage of entries from their club relative to their club boat register, the percentage of females in the crew for each race day with bonus points for Youth skippers (under 25yrs) and Senior skippers (over 60yrs). Further details will be covered in the Notice of Race.

The series will kick off with a Cocktail Party Launch on Friday 30 January 2015 at Royal Brighton Yacht Club to find out more about the ‘mixing, meeting and competing’ in both PPWCS as well as all the related training and regatta events which are now out there for women and girls who want to race keelboats. Bring your crew along with you to the launch. Click here to register.

Start planning now, get your crew together, approach your boat owner, recruit your mentors and encourage your female club members to join your club team and come and join us! 

2015 dates



 Fri 30 Jan 2015

  PPWCS Launch


Race 1

 Sun 15 Feb 2015

  Jennifer Goldsmith Trophy


Race 2

 Sun 22 Feb 2015

  Val Hodge Trophy Race


Race 3

 Sun 29 Mar 2015

  Day 2 WISC Regatta


Race 4

 Sun 19 Apr 2015

  HBYC Lady Skippers' Race


Race 5

 Sun 24 May 2015

  BLiSS Sunday Race



 Fri 29 May 2015

  PPWCS Presentation night


2015 results

PPWCS Results 2015

2015 reports

Visit here to keep up to date with all the action on and off the water

Series format

Five participating clubs each host one race. If less than five race days are completed, a boats worst score shall be re-included in her series score.

Boats can compete in AMS, IRC and/or an event-based performance handicap. Three races constitute a series.

The helmsperson for all races of the series must be female. Any change of helm during the series must be notified to the host club. Each individual race has its own rules for the ratio of female: male crew allowed in key positions. This information is covered in the Notice of Race for each individual race day and must be abided by to be scored in PPWCS.

Female crew members are encouraged and a prize for the boat in performance handicap with more than 50% female crew for all races will be awarded.

Full details are published in the Notice of Race. 

Race documents

PPWCS Notice of Race 2015

Each host club publishes the Sailing Instructions, Notices to Competitors and entry lists for their race (follow the links for each race under 'Dates' above).

How to enter

Competitors must enter each individual race separately using the host club's entry system. Cost to enter each race is determined by the host club.

On entry to any one of the five races, competitors will be automatically scored for the PPWCS. 

Does your yacht need crew / are you looking to crew on a yacht?

Yachting Victoria, with the assistance of the Sailing Administrators from each club, provides a crew matching service for the series.

If you are crew looking for a boat or a helm in need of crew please contact wgis@yachtingvictoria.com.au or Sally Herbertson      sallyatsea@gmail.com (0417 559 734)dd     


Series prizes are awarded to:

  • First, second and third placed boats in each of IRC, AMS and event performance handicap.
  • First boat in performance handicap that has more than 50% female crew for all races.

The Port Phillip Women's Championship Series Trophy is engraved with the winners of each rating and handicap system (IRC, AMS, performance handicap) and resides for the following season at the club of the winner of the rating system (IRC or AMS) with the greatest number of entrants for the series.

The Kingston Trophies PPWCS Perpetual Team Trophy will be awarded to the club with the highest score for participation, calculated on the basis of number of participating boats as a percentage of the numbers on the club boat register, the number of races sailed by each boat and a system of bonus points for youth skippers (under 25yrs) and senior skippers (over 60yrs).


Many thanks to our generous sponsors for making the series possible.

More information

For each individual event, contact the host club:

Jennifer Goldsmith Trophy  
Royal Melbourne Yacht Squadron (RMYS)

RYCV Trophy Race  
Royal Yacht Club of Victoria (RYCV) 

Day 2 WISC Regatta  
Sandringham Yacht Club (SYC)

HBYC Lady Skippers Race  
Hobson's Bay Yacht Club (HBYC)

BLiSS Sunday Race  
Royal Brighton Yacht Club (RBYC)

For general information about PPWCS, contact:

Yachting Victoria – wgis@yachtingvictoria.com.au


PPWCS Principal Race Officer – Glenys Hitchen ghitchen@zip.com.au

PPWCS Co-ordinator - Sally Herbertson sallyatsea@gmail.com

WGIS Chair - Rosie Colahan   davros@bigpond.net.au

PPWCS 2014 Event Wrap

2014 results

PHS 1st: Le Cascadeur (skipper: Leonora Eeckman)
AMS 1st: Le Cascadeur (skipper: Leonora Eeckman)

IRC 1st:  Absolut (skippers: Cath Beaufort and Jane Hutton)

Read all about the 2014 series: 

Winners are Grinners at second Port Phillip Women’s Championship Awards

Women and Girls in Sailing

Aust Yachting

Photo Gallery